Posted by: Josephine | August 30, 2012

Fatty

Fatty by kitkat681

It’s been well over a year, maybe even two, since last I read fanfiction. And perhaps three years since I read just about everything that popped into the Twilightsection on ff.net But here I am again, and let me tell you, there are still some good stories out there!

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’m older now, and hopefully a little wiser than before. But I believe I would have loved this fic just as much if I’d read it back in the days.

I don’t think I’ve read anything like it before, perhaps given that the topic is quite controversial. I’ve read Edward the Geek and Edward the Misfit a bunch of time, but this is something new. I’ve never read about Edward the Fat, or Fatward as the fandom would say. And, as I have to admit that the physical appearence of Edward is what draws many of us females in, I think this is a very interesting choice of story.

“My name is Edward Cullen…

And I’m a fatty.

I haven’t always been fat.

There was a time when I was just pleasantly plump.

Husky.

But those days are long gone.

And calling me a fatty would actually be a nice change from some of the other names I’ve been called.

But today I am making a change.

I don’t want to be fat anymore.”

Twilight is in many ways a modern take on Beauty and the Beast. Minus that the “Beast” is incredibly beautiful, rich and intelligent. Not that I mind too much, I mean I am a woman after all! But this story actually has Edward not being a Greek God. And I think that makes the story interesting in a new way.

It’s also great because it deals with the low selfesteem that many overweight live with. Very important subject. Because it’s just not about the food. You don’t get to that level of obesity for just liking food. Food addiction is a real thing and it’s well in the same category as bulimia and anorexia. Read more here.

The author, apart from coming up with this great story is also helping readers who are struggling to take control on their weight; encourages and bribes them with new chapters. Keep up the wonderful work!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

