Posted by: Josephine | September 23, 2010

The Mail Order Bride by ldywynedd

A nice lovely 19th centuary Western. Or, as the author puts it, a nice excuse to see Edward in a cowboy hat^^

Edward has escaped the expectations of his family and society in Chicago and “went west”. He started a ranch near Bear Valley in Colorado. But he is lonely and seeks a companion.

Bella lives with her brother Micheal, and runs his household. But when he is about to get married, she knows she needs to find her own place in life.

Edward writes a letter to a paper, “The Matrimonial News” and by coincidense, Bella reads it.

She is moved to answer and from hence they start corresponding with eachother. They agree that they are well suited for a life together, and after a short courtship they get married.

If you ever thought cowboys and ranching was hot, this story is sure to make it HOTTER!

I love the amount of detail and research the author has put into her story. It’s amazing! My absolute favorite part is their early letters, they are so cute!

The only thing I dislike is Jacob Black being their neighbour and rather sinister ranchowner. (I am sensing he is to become the antagonist later). And Rosalie being his sister. I would use that as a perfect excuse to work in some old cowboy/indian fighting.

Dear Miss Bella,


What with the passing of the vernal equinox, I have been eagerly looking for the harbingers of spring. And surely, everywhere I look, I see the hope of pleasant weather. The snow is relegated to the deep shades of the trees and is receding up the mountains. Spring flowers are beginning to poke through the insulating pine needles that litter the ground. The sky seems bluer and the birds are singing louder but maybe that is more of a reflection of my hopes than a sure indication that softer times are nearing.

This past winter has been bleak; the snow has been deeper and lasted longer than any can remember. It was cold in the saddle, trying to insure the cattle had shelter and food and my long days became long nights more frequently than I would have desired. The only bright spots in the dark, cold months were the weekly letters you so faithfully wrote. I reread them so often, I can frequently quote them verbatim. I treasure each one because, like Scheherazade, they revealed to me the woman you are by dropping one veil after another until I feel I know you almost as well as I know myself. Dare I hope my missives have also revealed the manner of man that I am to you?

How can that be possible, though? Surely, words on a page are not enough? I have an aching desire to know you more. With the change in the air and the new season upon us, do you think now is the time we cast our lots to the wind and to chance?

Miss Bella, I ask you to come to me. My intentions are noble and honest. I need a helpmate, a wife, and I am of the opinion that we would suit.

However, I have no wish to impose my desires upon you. It is hard to tell solely by correspondence if my opinion is completely accurate and perhaps my words mis-portrayed me over the months. So, I am offering you a proposal.

Miss Bella, do you think there is a chance that you could commit yourself to a life with me? I am hopeful of marriage for us and I have written it here so that your family and friends will know my intentions are pure.

All that being said, in case circumstances don’t pan out as I am currently hoping, I will purchase for you a round-trip ticket. This way you have the means to leave and return home if you feel the need. But I am hoping you will stay.

What say you?


Respectfully yours,

Edward Cullen

According to the author, these things weren’t that uncommon. There was a serious lack of women in the western provisions.

All in all, well worth the read:D


Leave a Reply

Categories

