Posted by: Josephine | June 1, 2009

Monthly Recommended – May

IED by jandco

Since I didn’t give you one for April, and Sara hasn’t given you one since LAST April, I am giving you this. The angstiest (is that a word?) and most intense story I think I’ve ever read. And I’m not just saying that to sell the story.

I started reading it one morning before work (I get up an hour earlier so that I can read some) and I couldn’t stop thinking about it all day. Poor children! All the raw emotion got me, and I wept through all the remaining chapters. Once again my parents thought I was crazy.

IED stands for Intermittent Explosive Disorder

–Behavioral disorder characterized by extreme expressions of anger, often to the point of uncontrollable rage, that are disproportionate to the situation at hand.

–IED is a mental disturbance that is characterized by specific episodes of violent and aggressive behavior that may involve harm to others or destruction of property.

Persons with the disorder experience violent and aggressive behavior that often results in property damage and physical bodily harm to others. These intense episodes occur spontaneously, not in response to provocation. Often, individuals express extreme regret and remorse as soon as the episode is over. Usually, he/she does NOT exhibit aggressive tendencies in between episodes.

Bella and Edward are cleaning windows. She is up on a ladder, to reach the upper ones. But the soapy water makes the steps slippry, and she slips and bangs her head. She gets a mild concussion, and all is well.

But then she starts acting weird. She gets angry without reason. And I’m not talking grumpy, saying nasty things angry. She starts to physically abuse Edward. And afterwards she’s completely broken. They start to isolate themselves from their family and friends, since they feel like none of them understands. Their entire life and being are torn apart, until they reach the point where Edward feels he’s soon going to hit back. When the hate for the person Bella becomes during her fits is slowly replacing the love he feels for the real Bella.  

 I’m not making this story any justice writing about it. It’s one of those you have to read to understand. But here’s an excerpt from chapter 1.

“Bella and I knew we’d always be together.

There’d never been any discussions about ‘being exclusive’ or ‘where is this going.’

Since the seventh grade, when a volleyball smacked her in the face and I’d been elected to walk her to the nurse’s office, I have been hers.

More philosophical people may say our connection formed when the blood from her lip stained my hands.

True believers in fate might say that volleyball brought us together.

My answer is much more simple: it was love.

If I am certain of anything, it is that I love her and that I always will.

That is the truth I live for, the religion I cling to.

While it’s true that the following series of events were unforeseen and nightmarish, they haven’t changed my truth.

The thing is, you can’t change the truth.

You can’t turn it in to something else or let go of it or deny it.

It just is.

While all else will waver or rot, she will always be my one true thing.

Nothing she has done, nothing she will ever do can change that.



Whether I like it or not.”

I recommend reading it all in one sitting. You’re going to need the closure. What would I do if it hadn’t been complete? Still crying probably. And that’s not even a joke.


Leave a Reply

Categories

