Posted by: Josephine | March 2, 2009

Monthly Recommended – February

Boy Meets Girl by Daddy’s Little Cannibal

Told you I am obsessed with her atm. And I figured I had to post a Jasper/Alice – story. I claim to be a Jasper-fan yet I never get around to post anything about him.

This is an All Human. And it’s a bit weird. Some people claim that it is quite similar to Cigarette Burns by the same author, but I haven’t read that. (It was removed before I had the chance to read it.)

Jasper is an alcoholic/drug addict. Alice just ran away from a hospital (more like mental institution). They meet on the subway. Alice has a vision of herself in Jasper’s apartment, so she asks if she can follow him home. He thinks she’s an hallucination, but takes her home.

Her smile didn’t falter. “I’m okay.” She shook her head and started to glide towards my couch. Her short skirt swayed with the wind as she took a seat near the arm rest. She sat on her feet and set the book that she was holding in the subway in her lap. She opened it and continued to read where she had left off when she introduced herself to me.

I should’ve been grateful that she wasn’t as demanding as some of the other hallucinations were, or that she had found a way to entertain herself other than bothering me, but I wasn’t. I wanted to hear her talk. I wanted to hear laugh. I wanted to see her smile. I had a weird fascination with this hallucination. She was everything I had ever wanted in a girl. I didn’t even care that she wasn’t real. I could pretend.
I stepped into the kitchen. A purple elephant was standing on the table. I thought about telling it to get off, before he broke my furniture, but I didn’t want to be rude. I opened the fridge and grabbed the first bottle of beer that I could find that didn’t have pink crickets crawling over it. They were screaming at me in their high bug voices. I couldn’t understand what they were saying; they were speaking a foreign language. I think it was Portuguese.
I popped the cap off of the bottle on the table. The elephant was gone. I didn’t know where he had decided to go and I didn’t really care. I was just grateful that he didn’t break my table. The giraffe that was on there earlier had already damaged it enough.
I grabbed a bottle of medication off the counter top. The label said to take half a pill twice a day. I took a whole pill every two hours. I had a friend that worked at a pharmacy. He steals medication for me. It’s unethical, but not impossible. I put the pill in my mouth before chugged half of the bottle of beer. I don’t like beer, but it makes the medication kick in faster and would help Alice stay longer.” 

I don’t know really what it is I like about this story. I think it’s how it sorta sums up Alice Jasper’s relationship. They have like this instant connection, and even though they’ve only known each other for like a few hours, they know each other. It’s quite beautiful.

“… Alice and Jasper’s is the most…mystical. They just ARE together, and have been from before they even met. They are not complete without each other–and never were. That’s what makes them different from the other couples, the “never were.” They were already not-whole before they met, waiting for each other.”

I’m anxiously awaiting the next chapter. It’s nice to read something else besides my usual fluffy smut. There’s not even any UST in this story. But I like it.

-Stephenie Meyer on Alice and Jasper
 

Responses

  1. […] stories, “Till Death Do US Part“, “Boy Meets Girl” and all her lemon-y one-shots are forever amongst my […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

