Posted by: Josephine | February 1, 2009

Monthly Recommended – January

To Love and Protect by Jayeliwood

Because Edward in a time of knights and princesses is just too good to be true. Iiiip!

Bella is a princess. Edward is her personal body guard. Her brother, Emmet, is scheduled to be king. Bella is to marry a prince. Her father, King Charlie, has arranged such a union with Prince Jacob. But, as some might’ve already figured out, she doesn’t want to go through with it. Wonder why?😛

Bella and Edward have to keep their love for each other a secret. The only ones who know, are Bella’s best friend, Alice, a noble woman, and Jasper, her guard. (They are in love too! :D)

What makes this story so good? Is it because I’m such a sucker for all things concerning knights, princesses and secret love affairs? Or it might just be that, like with the rest of her stories, Jayeliwood never cease to amaze me with her wonderful writing.

“What happened?” Alice asked Isabella, taking her hand in hers.
“My father,” she growled out the word, “said I was to be married. There was no discussion.”  

“Why would he do that to you? Especially in front of all those guests.”

“He was hoping that she would not make a scene. He knew she would react badly, but hoped that her dislike for displays would work to his advantage,” Jasper added, his arms crossed in front of his chest.

With those words she started to cry. I wrapped my arms tightly around her body, holding her to me. She sobbed into my chest. “I just got everything I wanted and now he wants to take it away from me.”

“We will think of something,” I whispered into her hair. I didn’t want to tell her I felt the exact same way. “This will work out for the best.”

“Marriages are not all about love. This is a marriage of power. Perhaps you can keep Edward as your guard,” Alice tried to say brightly, though it didn’t work very well.

“And when we have to produce an heir?” she said in a harsh tone.

I gritted my teeth at the question. No one would touch her but me. She was mine. I tightened my grip on her and she buried her face into my chest.

“You have to play along with this until you know better what to do. Maybe you can talk your father out of this.” Jasper touched my shoulder and I gave him a fierce look. He pulled back slightly, but stayed his ground.

“No…,” she whined softly in my arms.

“You have no choice as of now. If we cannot find a way out, perhaps there are other ways.” Jasper gave me a pointed look. I nodded my head, showing that I would discuss it later.

I tried to move slightly to sit up, but she clung to me. “No, don’t leave me.”

“I won’t leave you, no matter what.” I kissed the top of her head.” 

I think that even though it is an AU, it’s not that far from the book. In a way, I think this is how their relationship is built at times. Edward sees her like this perfect fragile, princess that needs protecting. And that is really what this story is about.

And don’t worry. There is some lemon in there for you. Wait and see.


Leave a Reply

Categories

