Posted by: Josephine | December 1, 2008

Monthly Recommended – November

Blue Moon Over Manka’s by Cullenista

Yay, we’re back from England! And we’ve had the best time ever! I seriously need to go back there, like tomorrow. Gah, I love Britain! Iiiiip! And I’ve been to Leicester Square! Iiiiip!

I know, I know, you want to hear about some lovely fan fiction now. And I’ve got just the story for you. It’s Twilight, of course. And it’s a post-Eclipse, pre-Breaking Dawn story. Right, here we go.

As every Fanpire knows, Edward’s birthday is on the 20th of June. What do you get your perfect vampire boyfriend (fiancée), who just happens to be super rich as well? Bella is faced with exactly that problem. But, being perfect as he is, Edward tells her that all he wants for his birthday is to spend some time with her. (Awww, this made me die, like twice.)

So, he plans this weekend trip to Manka’s (This is a real place, if you go to Cullenista’s page on ff.net you can find all the links.) They tell Charlie that the Cullen’s are taking Bella camping (it’s not like they could tell him the truth!). But of course it’s just the two of them going.

And every chapter is just spilling over with fluffy feelings. I mean, she spends like three chapter, just describing what food Edward buys for Bella! Then they share some much needed thoughts and feelings with each other, and get closer then ever (as I said, fluff is the key word here). And, of course, they “train” for the wedding night. So there is some lime, but no lemons. Because, just like they state in the beginning of BD, they “train” but do not “consummate” their relationship.

This is from the night before they leave. Edward needs to go hunting.

You are making this so difficult for me, Bella. If I had a choice I would never leave your side, do you not know that? How about if I promise that after we are married I never leave you alone at night again?” The tip of his straight, aristocratic nose skimmed along my neck as he inhaled deeply.
“Can I have that written into the vows?” Of course I wouldn’t be so concerned about sleeping through the night after we were married. Well, not for long, anyway.
“If you want,” he said, chuckling. “At this point I will agree to just about anything.”
“That’s a dangerous statement. Now I think I might stay up all night just to think up some more special vows.” It was an idle threat, but I enjoyed scaring him. It happened so rarely.

“After we are married I’m going to be stuck to you like glue. I am not going to leave you alone for a moment. You will get sick of me. You will be begging me for some time by yourself, but your pleas will fall on deaf ears. I hope you know what you are in for.” He thought he was warning me but he was in actuality delighting me.

It sounded like my definition of paradise. I knew it was not right to wish for time to pass, but I couldn’t wait for the wedding to be over. I felt like I was just treading water until that day when my real life would begin. “Hey, all that goes double for me. If you think I’m demanding now just wait until I’m your wife. I won’t let you out of my sight. I hope you know what you are in for.” I had never said ‘your wife’ before and I was a little shocked by how easily the words came out of my mouth.

“I think I am getting the better end of the deal, and I don’t think you are demanding at all. You are my angel.” 

So, the fluffer in me loves this. But all the UST is getting rather tedious (I knew I shouldn’t have started reading all those smutty one-shots, I suddenly crave lemons too much.). But this is still one of the best stories I’ve ever read. And it’s got over three thousand reviews! Whooa.

So go read. And then review, the author’s a real sucker for feedback ;)


Responses

  1. Hi, I was wondering if you’d be willing to review my short story http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0092HAQHY if I sent it to you, or possibly mention in your blog. Your site seems like the perfect place to do so.


Leave a Reply

Categories

