Posted by: Josephine | November 30, 2008

The Cotton Trail

The Cotton Trail by Ms. Priss

Hey, this is a weird story. I haven’t finished it yet (because of reasons I will explain later) but I wanted to post about it. So here we go!

The story takes place in 1839 (I think). Bella runs away from home, tired of her father always trying to marry her off. Then she’s captured by Jasper and brought to the Cotton Trail.

The Cotton Trail is a brothel, run by the Cullen family. Yeah, I know, a tad bit OoC, but just wait, there’s more.

So, Bella is forced to stay there and “work”. Jasper takes a liking to her, and desires her body. This is actually the reason I dislike the story. The author totally diminishes the relationship between Alice and Jasper as something merely physical, and that Jasper is a man of desires. I mean, Jasper would never want any other woman than Alice. Ever. No way. If she needed a “bad guy”, why don’t use like James, or someone we already hate? Not Jasper! I LOVE him!

Okay, on with the story. Jasper wants Bella. But so does (yes you guessed it!) Edward. He feels very protective of her (iiiip!), and so he tries to keep her safe.

“Don’t you know this will happen to you, Bella?” he hissed into my ear. I squirmed, whimpered.

“Please-“

“Some decrepit man with no wife to speak of will come to call for you and you’ll have to oblige. You’ll have no choice.” I tossed my head to the side, desperate to prove him wrong.

“I’ll tell him no,” I cried. Edward pressed his body against mine, bringing his lips closer to my ear.

“They’ll beat you into submission, Bella. Is that what you want?” I said nothing, tears stinging my eyes. He let me go then. “Get back into bed.” I was too stunned to move, though. I didn’t know what to do.

“Why are you doing this to me?” I asked pathetically. Edward grimaced, his teeth shining in the dark.

“I’m not doing it to you. I didn’t bring you here. I am trying to help you.” A small sob escaped my lips.

“How are you helping me?” I bit out. In despair, Edward held out his hands.

“Don’t you understand? If you’re mine, then you don’t have to be with anyone else!” A stinging silence. “You’re going to lose your virginity to someone, Bella. It might as well be me.” The sentence was so straight-forward that I drew in a quick breath, pressed myself against the door harder. The gravity of the situation hit me then. He was right. Someone, some gross old man was going to kiss me, touch me. I felt a cold shill up my spine and I groaned.

“Oh my God,” I murmured, the tears spilling over. Edward took my head in his hands.

“Bella, don’t cry,” he said softly. “Just kiss me.”

But the absolutely weirest part is that I was totally convinced that it was an All Human. Then, all of a sudden, some random character informs Bella that the Cullens are Vampires. I was like: WHAT? But I like Edward as a Vampire. He’s so much more angsty then. And I feel angsty at the mo.

But I still have a problem with the authors lack of detail knowledge. Like that Jasper is blonde. And that Bella is quite a bit taller than Alice. And that Jasper is wonderful in every way. Yeah. But it’s her story, I suppose. So she can do what she wants with it. If it was me… I would make Jasper the hero. And Edward the lover… Iiiiip!😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

