Posted by: Josephine | October 18, 2008

A Moment Too Late

Why do I keep finding these really long, and apparently famous considering the number of reviews, not to mention awesome twilightfics? Where have I been living, under a rock? I thought I’d read most of the fics on ff.net, but I guess I’ve been wrong.

So that’s what I’ve been doing, if you’re wondering why there’s no one posting here. I’ve been busy catching up.

And then I had to prepare this test-thingy for med school. To see if I’m “doctor material”. Yeah. Fingers crossed I passed!

Anyhow, the story I though I’d write about first is called A Moment Too Late” by Jayeliwood. This is actually a re-write of her story “Too Late”. But this one has more details, so I recommend reading the “new” version. It will totally rock your socks off!

The story is basically what would have happened if Edward had been too late that night in Port Angeles. And Bella had been raped. How would their relationship have worked out? Would, could she still love him, after all that she’s been through?

The author says that she thinks Edward is a bit OOC, but I disagree. I love her characterisation of him, how she describes his thoughts and actions. It’s all in his POV, I probably should add.

“Edward…” Her eyelashes began to flutter as she finally came to. One eye couldn’t open nearly as much other. The anger towards the men double again for a moment but, I swallowed it back, reminding myself to only think of her.
“Bella? Are you okay?” It was a stupid question, but it came out before I could think about it. I mentally kicked myself for being insensitive. Though she didn’t seem to notice.

“I don’t know…” she whispered as she tried to sit up. She groaned softly, and laid back. I’m sure she felt sore. She looked at her tiny hand in mine and squeezed my fingers. I smiled at this action, but in the back in my mind I wondered how long it would last. “Thank you.”

I looked up at her, surprised. “For what?”

“For saving my life…again.” She squeezed my hand again. I wondered if my freakishly cold skin was bothering her. She didn’t seem to notice though.

“What do you remember?” I whispered, looking directly into her perfect brown eyes. I wasn’t going to hide, or lie about anything this time. Not like with the van. Everything was different now.

“Everything,” she muttered softly, her gaze not wavering from mine.

“Oh…” I said, slumping back on my heels. I didn’t know what to say or what she would do.

“Thank you,” she whispered again. I pressed my lips to her hand. She smiled, completely unsurprised by it the action, or my skin. I was testing the waters of how much she’d allow.

“I’m so sorry.” I told her, rubbing soothing circles into her palm.

“You’re my hero.” She said with a slight smile. “Don’t be sorry. I won’t say anything about what you did. Don’t worry. Just like last time. I’ll just say I remember the men then I passed out. I woke up when you found me and then passed again. I woke up here. Is that alright? Is there anything I need to add?”

“That’s fine, Bella.” I brought her hand to my nose, pressing it gently to my lips. She smiled. I’m glad she didn’t seem to mind, and actually enjoying the contact. I couldn’t help but smile back. I stiffened when I remember what they needed to do. “They’re going to check you for evidence.”

“I know.” she whispered. “My dad’s a cop. Remember?”

“Aw, yes, of course.” I looked down at joined hands, not really sure what to do or say next.

“It’s alright. I’ll be fine. Don’t worry.” Her head laid back against the pillow, her eyes closing for a moment. She opened them again, gazing into my eyes, stoic expression on her face.

“You are being awfully calm about this.” I said, wishing I could feel as calm as she appeared. I felt like there was a tornado blowing through my head, mixing up my emotions and my thoughts.

“I feel safe around you,” she whispered, her eyes closing again. She seemed exhausted, not that I blamed her. I knew she wasn’t blacking out again, thankfully.

Mere hours ago I would have been horrified by this, by those words. I should have been now. I was much a monster as those men. But, was I really? I would have never done that to Bella. I would never hurt her like that. She was safe with me. I loved her too much to hurt her.

“I will keep you safe.” I told her honestly, squeezing her gently.

“Thank you, Edward.”

 

 

And the best part is, this is a re-write, so the author updates like once a day! Iiiip! Or, if you’re feeling that impatient, you can simply read “Too Late”. Squeee!

More updates coming soon!


Responses

  1. […] read some fanfiction, that’ll cheer you right up. So, I read today’s chapter of “A Moment Too Late“. And then I got to the authors note. And I felt even […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

