Posted by: Josephine | August 29, 2008

Doing This

 
 

 

Doing This by Princess Potter

Well, with all the sad news lately; HBP being moved up to next summer, and that there might not be a Midnight Sun, I thought we needed some more fluff in our lives.

So; here’s the first of many fluffy posts!

This story is basically a different take on how Harry and Ginny get together. It’s very cute, and funny.

Ron said you were completely in love with someone but wouldn’t tell him who…”Harry gaped at her. Am I that transparent? “He did?” was all he could manage in a weak voice and she nodded, her lip twitching.
“Yep. So, if you want me to answer, I think you have to tell me first,” she said, glancing over at him. She saw his jaw tensing and he had started to rock back and forth on his hands, although she doubted he realized he was doing it.

“Someone I probably shouldn’t,” he said softly, staring at the counter and Ginny’s heart skipped a beat.

“Why shouldn’t you?” she asked softly, matching his tone and he looked up at her as his rocking slowed to a stop.

“Well… they’re kind of,” his eyes flicked to her lips and back up. “They’re kind of out of bounds.”“Oh,” Ginny breathed before looking away and biting her lip. When did it get so hot in here?
“But… but we’re off subject,” Harry said, his tone rising as he tried to fight his way out of the verbal quicksand he had stepped into. “We were talking about who you like…”

“Oh yes,” she said, her lip twitching. “You have to tell me first remember?” she asked with a smile.

Harry shook his head. “I don’t think so.”

“So you’re not going to tell me?”

“No.”

She slid off the counter and looked up at him. “Well, I guess we’re at a standstill then,” she said as she smiled and patted his forearm. She let is trail along his skin as she moved past him. Harry stared down at his arm. Her hand wasn’t there anymore but it still burned where she had touched him; his hair standing on end and his entire body alert and begging for more contact.

He turned and watched her as she walked back toward the den, leaving the kitchen… leaving him.

“It’s you,” he said loudly.”
 

 

Many, my friends included, rant on about how Ginny is such a Mary-Sue, and that her character just stopped developing after OotP. And sure, I can agree with some of that. But you know, we only see her through Harry’s eyes, and since he sorta has a CRUSH on her, he’s going to focus on her best sides. I’m sure we would see a different Ginny if the books were in Ron’s POV, for example.

But, if you want to explore more of her personality, I strongly recommend Princess Potter’s stories. She just knows how to write Ginny, exactly how I see her. And that’s the best praise I can give.


Leave a Reply

Categories

