Posted by: Josephine | August 27, 2008

Another Moon

 Another Moon by Minka Ink

So, this is angst. EdwardxBella angst. You have been warned.

What would have happened if Bella hadn’t jumped off the cliff? And the whole Italy-Volturi-suicide-thingy never came to be. Would Edward come back like he said he would? And if he did, would Bella be able to forgive him?

Had this story been in the actual book, I think yes, she would have taken him back. As she said in Eclipse – “There is nothing to forgive”.

But, what I love about this story is that it develops Bella to be so much more than a damsel in distress (Oh, come on, you know she is!). She doesn’t just jump into his waiting arms the moment she sets eyes on him. She’s hurt, and so she behaves according to that. 

Again, this is very angst, so don’t read unless you like hurting.

“I’m sorry.” I looked up slightly, my eyes touching the sharp white angle of his jaw, before jerking back down to my tea.
If nothing else, I thought, I had learned a lesson from him: Do it quickly, leave no room for argument.
He looked at me, his need carving deep hollows in his cheeks, his eyes reflecting a man poised on a precipice, waiting for the gust of wind that would either blow him to safety, or straight into hell.

Whether I could be fixed or not, I had no choice. Whether there was anything to fix, or whether my love for him had gasped its last breath, I had no choice. The certainty of the thought stunned me. It made me think of a movie I’d watched with Renee once, The Bridges of Madison County. This kind of certainty comes but once in a lifetime…

I had no choice.

“I’m sorry Edward…” I looked at my hands, my thighs in their blue sweatpants, at the little poc-marks in Charlies’ pine kitchen table – anywhere but at him.

“It’s too late.”

We’re still looking for co-writers! Please send us a message if you’re interested!


Leave a Reply

Categories

